2022 EuChemS Walter Thiel Award

The EuChemS Walter Thiel award: created in 2022 as a biennial award, it will be handed out for the first time at the CompChem conference in Thessaloniki in August 2023. We are delighted to announce the first awardee, Dr. Felix Plasser of Loughborough University (UK). The Award Ceremony took place on August 27, 2023, with the laureate presenting a plenary lecture (see www.euchems-compchem.eu/program).

Felix Plasser, Loughborough University, UK

The call for the 2024 award is open. Further information: https://www.euchems.eu/awards/walter-thiel-award/

2023 The EuChemS DCTC lifelong-achievement award

At the Saloniki meeting 2023 the delegates decided to create a lifelong-achievements award, complementary to the Thiel award, by honouring an outstanding senior scientist. The first awardee, selected by the delegates, is Professor Hans Lischka from Vienna in Austria, for his fundamental work on multi-reference systems and high-level theoretical spectroscopy.

2020 European Chemistry Gold Medal

Michele Parrinello was awarded the first European Gold Medal in 2020, after being nominated by the Division of Computational and Theoretical Chemistry.

Plenary speech by European Chemistry Gold Medal awardee Michele Parrinello at the 7th EuChemS Chemistry Congress in Lisbon, 26-30 August 2022