+32 (0) 2 289 25 67

EuCheMS Historical Landmarks

Chemistry is an integral part of the Cultural Heritage of Europe. However, while there are many touristic signs marking the very place where important intellectual developments or events happened, only a few chemical sites are identified and publicized. Most of the existing programmes are run by national chemical societies, and therefore often overlook the European, and even the international dimension, of the chemical sciences.

For these reasons, EuCheMS decided to set up a Historical Landmarks Programme. It will reinforce the sense of belonging of European chemists and remind them that as far as the history of chemistry goes, people and ideas alike have circulated, been shared and shaped through meeting s and communication. It would also bring to the general public some sense of how chemistry is part of the general cultural heritage and history of every European citizen, especially as the plaques are accompanied with communication materials providing information on the discoveries and breakthroughs celebrated, and the impact they had.

EuCheMS takes into account that some countries already have national landmarks programme, while others have an interest but have nothing in place. In view of this, two levels of EuCheMS Landmarks are foreseen i.e. for major and for local initiatives. To be efficient, such a programme requires the full involvement of the local community.

The guidelines for this award can be found here.

Landmark Selection Committee

Brigitte Van Tiggelen – Chair of the Landmark Selection Committee

Ioannis Katsoyiannis

Prof. Ioannis A. Katsoyiannis received his PhD from Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in 2003, having spent short research periods in Germany as a DAAD research fellow. Following this, he conducted post-doctoral research, first at the Technical University of Berlin as an Alexander von Humboldt Foundation research fellow and later at Eawag, under a Marie Curie Individual Fellowship. In 2015 he was a recipient of the prestigious fellowship from the Swiss National Science Foundation and visited for 3 months the group of Professor Urs von Gunten at EPFL. He is currently assistant professor at the department of Chemistry of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. He is the Chairperson on the division of Chemistry and Environment of the European Chemical Society (EuCheMS-DCE) for the period 2018-2020 and the chairman of the 17th International Conference of Chemistry and Environment (ICCE) of the DCE-EuCheMS, to be held in Thessaloniki, from 16 – 20 June 2019.



Torsten John

Torsten John is a Ph.D. Candidate in Biophysical Chemistry at Leipzig University, Germany. He performs his research jointly at the Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering (IOM), Germany, and at Monash University, Australia, where he studies the aggregation of amyloidogenic and antimicrobial peptides near nanoparticles and biomimetic membranes. Prior to his Ph.D. studies, he graduated with a Bachelor (2012) and Master of Science degree from Leipzig University, Germany, and undertook research projects at RMIT University, Monash University and The University of Queensland, Australia. Among others, Torsten John was selected as SciFinder Future Leader 2017 and he is recipient of a 2018 Australia Awards–Endeavour Research Fellowship. Torsten John is an active member of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) and the Secretary of the European Young Chemists’ Network (EYCN) since 2017.




Luigi Campanella


Peter Childs