Who is EuChemS | Contact Us   |            

Division of Physical Chemistry

Physical chemistry is quantitative chemistry.
It is active at the overlap of physics, biology, medizine and chemistry.

It is one of the traditional sub-disciplines of chemistry and is concerned with the
application of the
concepts and theories of physics to the
analysis of the chemical properties and the
reactive behaviour of matter
.

 

The EuChemS Division of Physical Chemistry
coordinates European activities in the field of Physical Chemistry regarding:

  • Scientific Exchange: conferences and workshops
  • Research: Interdisciplinary work
  • Education

Division Chair, Co-Chair, Treasurer, & Steering Committee (Term: 2021-2023)

 

Division Chair:

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kautek

University of Vienna, Department of Physical Chemistry, Währinger Strasse 42, A-1090 Vienna, Austria

Telephone: +43 664 8175230

Email:

Web_Page

 

Vice-Chair:

Prof. Dr. Giovanni Marletta

University of Catania, Department of Chemical Sciences, Viale Andrea Doria 6, I-95125 Catania, Italy

Telephone: +39 095 7385130

Email:

Web_Page

 

Treasurerer:

Prof. Dr. Gyözö G. Láng

Eötvös Loránd University, Department of Physical Chemistry, Pázmány Péter sétány 1/A, H-1117 Budapest, Hungary

Telephone: +36 1 372 2500 (ext. 1107)

Email:

Web_Page

 

Steering Committee:

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery, University of Oldenburg, D;

Dr. Sylvie Choua, Université de Strasbourg, F;

Prof. Dr. Benjamin Dietzek, University of Jena, D;

Prof. Dr. Günter Grampp, Graz University of Technology, A;

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kautek, University of Vienna, A;

Prof. Dr. Gyözö G. Láng, Eötvös Loránd University, HU;

Prof. Dr. Eckart Rühl, Freie Universität Berlin, D;

Prof. Dr. Lindholm-Sethson, University of Umea, S;

Prof. Dr. Giovanni Marletta, University of Catania, I;

Prof. Dr. Claire Vallance, University of Oxford, GB;

Prof. Dr. Stefan Willitsch, University of Basel, CH;

Delegates

Country First name Last name Email EuCheMS Member Society
A Wolfgang Kautek wolfgang.kautek[at]univie.ac.at Gesellschaft Österreichischer Chemiker (GÖCH)
CY Epameinondas Leontidis psleon[at]ucy.ac.cy Pancyprian Union of Chemists
CZ NN Ceská spolecnost Chemická
F Sylvie Choua sylvie.choua[at]unistra.fr Société Chimique de France
D Katharina Al-Shamery katharina.al.shamery[at]uni-oldenburg.de Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh)
D Eckart Rühl ruehl[at]zedat.fu-berlin.de Deutsche Bunsen-Gesellschaft für physikalische Chemie (DBG)
H Gyözö Lang langgyg[at]chem.elte.hu Magyar Kémikusok Egyesülete
IL Joshua Jortner jortner[at]post.tau.ac.il Israel Chemical Society (ICS)
BG NN Bulgarian Chemical Society
I Giovanni Marletta gmarletta[at]unict.it Societa Chimica Italiana
NL Bert Weckhuisen B.M.Weckhuysen[at]uu.nl Koninklijke Nederlandse Chemische Vereniging (KNCV)
PL Krzysztof Winkler winkler[at]uwb.edu.pl Polskie Towarzystwo Chemiczne
P Amando J.L. Pombeiro pombeiro[at]ist.utl.pt Portuguese Electrochemical Society
P Manuel Piedade mepiedade[at]fc.ul.pt Sociedade Portuguesa de Química
RSB Vera Dondur edondur[at]ffh.bg.ac.rs Serbian Chemical Society
SK Dusan Velic velic[at]ilc.sk Slovenská chemická spolocnost
SLO Vojko Vlachy vojko.vlachy[at]fkkt.uni-lj.si Slovensko Kemijsko Društvo
E Inaki Tunón Ignacio.Tunon[at]uv.es Real Sociedad Espanola de Quimica
E Laura Masgrau laura.masgrau[at]uab.cat Societat Catalana de Quimica
S Britta Lindholm-Sethson britta.sethson[at]chem.umu.se Svenska Kemistamfundet
CH Stefan Willitsch stefan.willitsch[at]unibas.ch Schweizerische Chemische Gesellschaft (SCG)
TR Sefik Suzer suzer[at]fen.bilkent.edu.tr Türkiye Kimya Dernegi
GB Claire Vallance claire.vallance[at]chem.ox.ac.uk Royal Society of Chemistry  (Faraday Division)
GR Ioannis Kapolos jkapolos[at]teikal.gr Greek Chemical Society
N Signe Kjelstrup signe.kjelstrup[at]ntnu.no Norvegian Chemical Society

Mission and Activtities

Mission of the EuCheMS Division of Physical Chemistry:

  • Coordination, initiation of vivid communication, and collaboration between the Divisions of Physical Chemistry of the respective European Chemical Societies.
  • Targeting cutting edge R&D-topics that can be best tackled by Physical Chemistry as e.g. energy conversion and storage, material resource saving chemical processes and manufacturing strategies.
  • Coordinating transdisciplinary research discussion where Physical Chemistry can play a pivotal role.
  • Quality assurance support of physical chemical education and teaching at European universities.
  • Scientific exchange particularly by conferences and workshops at budget-priced venues (e.g. the biannual EuChemS Physical Chemistry Conferences – ECPC).
  • Special attention to promotion of the careers of young scientists.
  • Bring academia, industry and decision-makers together.