Who is EuChemS | Contact Us   |            

Young Investigator Workshop 2019 – EuChemS Division of Organic Chemistry





Young Investigator Award 2019

Previous YIW editions

Dear Participants,

It is our great pleasure to welcome you in Vienna on July 11-13 for the 11th Young Investigator Workshop – YIW 2019 of the EuChemS Division of Organic Chemistry. This is the key event of our Division, gathering talented young researchers in organic chemistry selected by the National Chemical Society members of EuChemS, and also hosting representatives of the American Chemical Society and the Canadian Society for Chemistry. The YIW aims to recognize the scientific contribution of promising chemists under the age of 40, and it is establishing itself as one of the most important young investigators´ events for organic chemists in the world. It offers an extraordinary opportunity for discussing cutting-edge research, for networking and for promoting scientific excellence in young generations. This year’s Young Investigator Award 2019 will be given to Dr. Marcos García Suero (ICIQ, Spain).

We wish you all to enjoy an exciting scientific meeting in the wonderful city of Vienna.

Prof. Gianluca Farinola

Prof. Vittorio Pace

Prof. Berit Olofsson

Prof. Christoforos Kokotos

The pdf version of the final programme can be found here.

Day 1: Thursday 11th July

10:00 Registration
12:00 Lunch at UniVienna
13:00 Opening (Prof. G. M. Farinola and Prof. V. Pace)
13:15 Synlett YIW Special Issue (Dr. Susanne Haak)

Session 1 (Moderator: Prof. G. M. Farinola)

13:30 Florian Rudroff – AT Catalytic Cascades – A Lesson to Be Learned from Nature
14:00 Hennie Valkenier – BE Macrocyclic Receptor for Transmembrane Transport
14:30 Maria Koyioni – CY Recent Advances on the Chemistry of 1,2,3-Dithiazoles
15:00 Marina Šekutor – HR The Role of London Dispersion in Structural Organization of Polycyclic Cage Compounds
15:30 Coffee Break
16:00 Ji-Woong Lee – DK Learning to Love CO2
16:30 Toni Metsänen – FI Synthetic Ketoreductase Mimics
17:00 Vincent Coeffard – FR Phenol Dearomatization by Taming the Reactivity of Singlet Oxygen
17:30 Christos Stathakis GR A Trip to the Magic World of Polyphenols. Total Synthesis of (±)-Vaticanol
20.15 Dinner at Salmbräu

Day 2: Friday 12th July

Session 2 (Moderator: Prof. B. Olofsson)

09:00 Andrew McNally – US Selective Functionalization of Pyridines, Diazines and Pharmaceuticals via Heterocyclic

Phosphonium Salts

09:30 Marcus Baumann – IE Development of Continuous Flow Methods for Modern Organic Synthesis of Bioactive Targets
10:00 Ori Gidron – IL Planar and Twisted π-Conjugated Materials
10:30 Silvia Marchesan – IT Entry to Peptide Nanostructure Wonderland Through the Mirror
11:00 Coffee Break
11:30 Melanie Hall – AT Exploring Redox-Neutral Biocatalysis with Redox Enzymes
12:00 Gint Šmits – LV The Double Bond Geometry Control in Natural Product Synthesis: A Case Study
12:30 Alexander Astrand – NO Overcoming β-Lactam Resistance – A Potential Solution to Antibiotic Resistance
13:00 Lunch

Session 3 (Moderator: Prof. C. Kokotos)

14:00 Marcin Kalek – PL Metal Free C-H Functionalization Using Iodonium Salts as Group Transfer Reagents
14:30 Luis Cruz – PT Flavylium-Based System Towards Technological Application
15:00 Eliška Matoušová – CZ Development of New Methods for the Synthesis of Polycyclic Natural Products and Their Analogues
15:30 Coffee Break
16:00 Ellen Sletten – US Flavylium Polymethine Fluorophores for Multiplexed in vivo Imaging
16:30 Marcos G. Suero – SP New Reactivity Rules at Carbon
17:00 Lukasz Pilarski – SE Remote Control of Aryne Selectivity
17.30 Michal Juríček – CH Magnetic Switches Made of Graphene Fragments
20.15 Social Dinner at Fuhrgassl-Huber

Day 3: Saturday 13th July

Session 4 (Moderator: Prof. V. Pace)

09:00 Aleksandra Mitrović – RS Covalent Functionalization of Black Phosphorus
09:30 Alexey Sukhorukov – RU Umpolung Functionalization of α-Carbon Atom in Nitronates: Methodology and Application
10:00 Clemens Mayer – NL Repurposing Reprogrammed Translation for (Bio)Catalyst Design
10:30 Susannah Coote – UK 4-π Photocyclisation of 1,2-Dihydropyridazines: Access to Versatile Bicyclic 1,2-Diazetidine Building Blocks
11:00 Coffee Break
11:30 Mihály Herczeg – HU Synthesis and Biological Studies of Heparin Analogue Oligosaccarides
12:00 Sophie Rousseaux – CA Electrophilic Metal Homoenolates and Their Application in the Synthesis of Cyclopropylamines
12:30 Closing EurJOC Lecture: Ilan Marek – Remote Functionalization (Merging metal-walk with C-C Bond Cleavage) YIW Award – Final Remarks and Farewell

The following speakers have confirmed their participation to the EuCheMS Young Investigator Workshop 2019:

Seconded by
Austria Mélanie Hall – University of Graz – CV
Austria Florian Rudroff – TU Wien – CV
Belgium Hennie Valkenier – Université libre de Bruxelles – CV
Cyprus Maria Koiyoni – University of Cyprus – CV
Croatia Marina Šekutor – Ruđer Bošković Institute – CV
Czech Republic Eliška Matoušová – Charles University – CV
Denmark Ji-Woong Lee – University of Copenhagen – CV
Estonia nobody was seconded
Finland Toni T. Metsänen – University of Jyväskylä – CV
France Vincent Coeffard – Université de Nantes – CV
Germany None None
Greece Christos I. Stathakis – Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – CV
Ireland Marcus Baumann – University College Dublin – CV
Israel Ori Gidron – Weizmann Institute of Science – CV
Italy Silvia Marchesan – University of Trieste – CV
Latvia Gints Šmits – Riga Technical University – CV
Lithuania Nobody was seconded
Norway Alexander Åstrand – University of Oslo – CV
Poland Marcin Kalek – University of Warsaw – CV
Portugal Luis Cruz – University of Porto – CV
Russia Alexey Sukhorukov – Russian Academy of Sciences – CV
Serbia Aleksandra Mitrović – University of Belgrade – CV
Spain Marcos García Suero – Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology – CV
Sweden Łukasz T. Pilarski – Uppsala University – CV
Switzerland Michal Juríček – University of Zurich – CV
The Netherlands Clemens Mayer – University of Grongingen – CV
United Kingdom Susannah Coote – Lancaster University – CV
Hungary Mihály Herczeg – University of Debrecen – CV
Canada Sophie Rousseaux – University of Ottawa – CV
USA Andy McNally – Colorado State University – CV
USA Ellen M. Sletten – University of California, Los Angeles – CV

We are very grateful for the sponsoring by the following companies and institutions. We appreciate their support of the EuCheMS Young Investigator Workshop 2019!


The Young Investigator Award 2019

is granted to

Dr. Marcos García Suero

ICIQ, Spain

For his significant and innovative discoveries in photoredox catalysis, and particularly for his studies on the generation of carbyne equivalents for late stage functionalization of aromatic compounds, and of radical carbenoids for the stereoconvergent formation of cyclopropanes

The EuCheMS Division of Organic Chemistry hallmark activity is the Young Investigator Workshop (YIW) to further promote and recognize academic excellence in organic chemistry within (and outside) Europe. This annual event is deliberately held close to either the EuChemS Chemistry Congress (ECC) or the European Symposium on Organic Chemistry (ESOC), as we encourage the attendees of the YIW to attend these events. For the YIW workshops, each EuCheMS member society nominates up to two young investigators identified as rising stars in their respective country. Participation in the workshop is typically limited to 30 attendees, as this restricted number ensures the highest quality output as well as interactive exchanges between participants.

The participants to the previous workshop editions can be found here