Division of Green and Sustainable Chemistry

International Year of the Periodic Table celebrated at NOVA

The Chemistry Department and the Library at Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia, Universidade Nova (FCT NOVA) embraced a large number of activities to celebrate UNESCO 2019 – International Year of the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements and the 150th anniversary of its creation by Russian scientist Dmitri Mendeleiev ) with great success and impact in the Campus and in the Community. Details may be consulted in:


ONLY 1 week to the…

4th EuChemS Congress on Green and Sustainable Chemistry (EuGSC)

It is our pleasure to announce that the location of the 4th EuGSC will be Tarragona, Spain. Chair of the 4th EuGSC will be Prof. Arjan Kleij from the Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies (ICREA), Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), The Barcelona Institute of Science & Technology. The date has been confirmed as 22-25th September 2019 and further details can be found at the link above.


Sir Martyn Poliakoff awarded with the title of Doctor Honoris Causa by NOVA

NOVA University Lisbon awarded an honorary doctorate to Sir Martyn Poliakoff, on the occasion of the commemoration of the International Year of the Periodic Table.

The ceremony of conferment of the title of Doctor Honoris Causa was held on 22nd July, at 11:00 am at the Auditorium of NOVA University of Lisbon Rectorate, Campolide Campus.

Ana Aguiar Ricardo,  professor at NOVA School of Sciences and Technologies  and chair of the Division of Green and Sustainable Chemistry, did the laudation of the awardee and Manuel Nunes da Ponte, also Professor at NOVA, was the patron.

In her speech,  Ana Aguiar Ricardo featured Sir Martyn Poliakoff as a global science ambassador and a leader in Sustainable Chemistry for his “major contributions to the development of cleaner processes, reducing the risk of the environmental impact that undermines the sustainability of the planet”. Sir Martyn was one of the first people to suggest that 2019, the 150th anniversary of Mendeleev’s first publication of the Periodic Table, should be declared the International Year of the Periodic Table.

Ana Aguiar Ricardo also pointed out that this award is a “strengthening of science on a world scale”, as Martyn is one of the most recognized chemistry professors in the world, a “superstar of chemistry”, who has inspired and motivated generations of students by getting across the message of Green Chemistry, which he continues to do through his YouTube videos.