EuChemS Gold Medal

Home » Awards » EuChemS Gold Medal

Every two years, the exceptional achievements of one scientist working in the field of chemistry in Europe will be rewarded.

Nominations for the EuChemS Gold Medal are now open!

Deadline: 19.12.2022 18:00 CET

Please carefully read the guidelines for the EuChemS Gold Medal.

Maria José Calhorda 2023-2026

Jurriaan Huskens 2023-2026

András Perczel 2023-2026

Marina Resmini 2023-2026

Joachim Sauer 2023-2026

Herman Overkleeft 2017 – 2022

Markku Leskelä 2017 – 2022

Lesley J. Yellowlees 2017 – 2022

Veronica Vaida 2017 – 2022

Renato Zenobi 2017 – 2022

Gold Medal Recipients

Dame Carol Robinson – 2022

The 2022 European Chemistry Gold Medal has been awarded to Dame Carol Robinson for exceptional achievements in the field of chemistry in Europe. 

Professor Dame Carol Robinson is a British chemist and former President of the Royal Society of Chemistry. She is currently the Director of the Kavli Institute for NanoScience Discovery as well as a Professorial Fellow at Exeter College and holds the Chair of Dr Lee’s Professor of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry at the University of Oxford. She is noted as the first female Professor in both the Department of Chemistry at the University of Oxford and prior to that at the University of Cambridge. 

Professor Robinson’s long and distinguished career has been marked by outstanding contributions across the fields of physical, medicinal, and biochemistry; an exemplary publication record, and numerous international honours and awards for her research all whilst promoting the role of women in science.  

Professor Robinson is globally recognised as a leader in the development of mass spectrometry to understand the 3D structure of large molecular compounds, specifically carrying out ground-breaking research on protein folding, ribosomes, molecular chaperones, and membrane proteins. Her cutting-edge work finds many applications from antibiotic resistance to drug design in both academia and industry. In addition to her academic role, she founded a successful biotechnology company, now in its fourth year, which focuses on mass spectrometry to discover novel medicines. 

Michele Parrinello – 2020

The 2020 European Chemistry Gold Medal will be awarded to Professor Michele Parrinello for exceptional achievements in the field of chemistry in Europe.

Professor Parrinello is an Italian physicist. He is currently Professor at the ETH Zurich and at the Università della Svizzera Italiana Lugano, in Switzerland. For his research, he has been awarded numerous prizes. Among them can be listed the 2001 American Chemical Society Award in Theoretical Chemistry and the 2017 Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences. More recently, Professor Parrinello received the 2020 Benjamin Franklin Medal (Franklin Institute) in Chemistry. Furthermore, Professor Parrinello is the author of more than 600 publications. He is also a member of several academies, including the British Royal Society, the Italian Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei.

Professor Parrinello’s interests in Science are interdisciplinary. Together with Professor Car, he is still developing and applying the Car-Parrinello molecular dynamics method. This computational Chemistry software looks at the motion of individual atoms. This method has broad applications in physics and chemistry and allows scientists to understand atomic behavior in various range applications. Among them, the Car-Parrinello method helped studying the behavior of water near a hydrophobic graphene sheet, solving the heat transfer problems between Si/Ge superlattices, evaluating the critical point of aluminum and much more.

Bernard L. Feringa – 2018

© MPP/Royal Society of Chemistry

The first European Chemistry Gold Medal in 2018 was awarded to Professor Bernard L. Feringa, the winner of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2016. The ceremony took place at the 7th EuChemS Chemistry Congress in Liverpool, UK during the opening session, and was presented by Herman Overkleeft, Chair of the International Award Committee for the European Chemistry Gold Medal (IACM).