The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016

Oct 7, 2016

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 was awarded jointly to Jean-Pierre Sauvage (University of Strasbourg, France),Sir J. Fraser Stoddart (Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA), and Bernard L. Feringa (University of Groningen, the Netherlands, and a plenary speaker at ECC6, where he was awarded by the GDCh) “for the design and synthesis of molecular machines”.

2016’s Nobel Laureates in Chemistry have taken molecular systems out of equilibrium’s stalemate and into energy-filled states in which their movements can be controlled. In terms of development, the molecular motor is at the same stage as the electric motor was in the 1830s, when scientists displayed various spinning cranks and wheels, unaware that they would lead to washing machines, fans and food processors. Molecular machines will most likely be used in the development of things such as new materials, sensors and energy storage systems.

To know more about the the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016, please follow this link (with popular information) or this link (for advanced information).