Congratulations! – Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017

Oct 10, 2017

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Jacques Dubochet  (University of Lausanne, Switzerland), Joachim Frank (Columbia University, USA), and Richard Henderson (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK) for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution. Due to this type of microscopy that simplifies and improves the imaging of biomolecules, researchers can now freeze biomolecules mid-movement and visualise processes they have never previously seen, which is decisive for both the basic understanding of life’s chemistry and for the development of pharmaceuticals. More info on this year´s Nobel Prize is available here.