European Chemistry Gold Medal Awardees to give plenary talks at ECC8

May 3, 2022

Dame Carol Robinson and Michelle Parrinello are the recipients of the 2022 and the 2020 European Chemistry Gold Medal, respectively. They both receive this award in recognition of their exceptional achievements in the field of chemistry in Europe. They will receive this honour in person at the 8thEuChemS Chemistry Congress (ECC8), held in Lisbon from 28 August until 1 September 2022. The Awardees will address the participants of the congress in person during the opening ceremony.

Dame Carol Robinson, former president of the Royal Chemistry Society of the United Kingdom, is a globally recognised leader in the development of mass spectrometry, who carried out ground-breaking research on protein folding, ribosomes, molecular chaperones, and membrane proteins. Michelle Parrinello, Professor at the ETH Zurich and at the Università della Svizzera Italiana Lugano, in Switzerland, is a physicist with great interests in interdisciplinarity. He is still developing and applying the Car-Parrinello molecular dynamics method, the broad applications of which allow scientists to understand atomic behavior in various range applications.

Read more about the ECC8 here, and find out more about European Chemistry Gold Medal and its awardees here.