2018 EuChemS Lecture Awardee – Webinar

Sep 3, 2020

Mark your calendar!

The European Chemical Society, EuChemS, is pleased to organise the 2018 EuChemS Lecture Awardee Webinar. The online event was held on Friday 13 November, from 10:00 to 11:30 CET. During this event, Raffaella Buonsanti, EuChemS 2018 Lecturer, gave a talk on “Colloidal chemistry for tunable nanocrystals as CO2 conversion catalysts“.

In recognition of the major achievements of one junior scientist working in chemistry in a country with a EuChemS Member Organisation, Raffaella Buonsanti was awarded the EuChemS Lecture Award in 2018. Usually, the winner gets the opportunity to give a lecture at the next European Chemistry Congress (ECC) or at a conference of a EuChemS Professional Network (PN). However this year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the postponement of the 8th European Chemistry Congress (ECC8) to 2022, the event took place online.


  • Welcome by Pilar Goya, EuChemS President
  • Introduction and Laudation by Barbara Ruth Albert, Chair of the International Award Committee for the EuChemS Lecture Award
  • Colloidal chemistry for tunable nanocrystals as CO2 conversion catalysts, Raffaella Buonsanti, 2018 EuChemS Lecture Awardee
  • Q&A Session 1
  • Award Certificate to Raffaella Buonsanti by Pilar Goya
  • Introduction of next speakers by Raffaella Buonsanti
  • Insights into reaction intermediates via in-situ X-Ray spectroscopy to predict synthetic pathways for shape-controlled Cu nanocrystals, Valeria Mantella, PhD Student at EPFL
  • Nanocrystals as precursors in solid state reactions for size- and shape-controlled polyelemental nanomaterials, Chethana J Gadiyar, PhD Student at EPFL
  • Q&A Session 2
  • Closing remarks by Pilar Goya

[gdlr_accordion style=”style-1″ initial=”0″]
[gdlr_tab title=”Speakers”]

Pilar Goya, EuChemS President

Pilar Goya is EuChemS President and research professor of the Spanish Research Council (CSIC) at the Instituto de Química Médica of which she was the Director from 2005 to 2011. Vice President of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry (RSEQ) until 2013, she is currently the Vice President of the Spanish Society of Medicinal Chemistry (SEQT). She received her Ph.D. in Chemistry from the Universidad Complutense Madrid and was a postdoctoral Humboldt fellow in Konstanz, Germany, under Prof W. Pfleiderer´s supervision. From 1991 till 1996 she was Head of International Affairs of CSIC, she was a member of the Core Group of PESC (Physical and Engineering Sciences Committee) of the European Science Foundation, ESF, and Chair of the Chemistry Committee of the Marie Curie Fellowships of the EU.

Her research deals with different aspects of medicinal chemistry and drug design and is currently focused on cannabinoids and PPAR ligands targeting the SNC and obesity. She has published over 150 scientific papers, 12 international patents, and has directed 10 Ph.D. theses. As a former member of the Ethics Committee of the CSIC, she is interested in research integrity issues and good scientific practices and is active in reaching out to the general public has recently published a popular book on “Pain”.

Barbara Ruth Albert, Chair of the International Award Committee for the EuChemS Lecture Award

Barbara Ruth Albert is Chair of the International Award Committee for the EuChemS Lecture Award. Barbara is a Professor at the Technische Universität Darmstadt. She studied chemistry in Bonn, Germany, and received her PhD in 1995. Prof. Albert is an expert in all areas of boron chemistry, ranging from synthesis, theoretical calculations over structural features to the development of new functional materials. Her team works on new analytical approaches as well as forefront applications in solid state chemistry. Her awards include a grant from the Alexander von Humboldt foundation, a Lise-Meitner grant, the ADUC, and the Bennigsen-Foerder award. She is a former President of Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh).

Raffaella Buonsanti, 2018 EuChemS Lecture Awardee

Raffaella Buonsanti obtained her PhD in Nanochemistry in 2010 at the National Nanotechnology Laboratory in Lecce (Italy), with Prof. Davide Cozzoli. Then, she moved to California where she spent over five years at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, first as a postdoc and project scientist at the Molecular Foundry, with Prof. Delia Milliron (now at UT Austin), and after as a tenure-track staff scientist and principal investigator in the Joint Centre for Artificial Photosynthesis (JCAP). She is currently a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Institute of Chemical Sciences and Engineering at EPFL in Switzerland.

Valeria Mantella, PhD Student at EPFL

Valeria Mantella is originally from Soverato, in Italy. After she graduated from the “University of Sapienza” in Rome, where she earned both a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in Chemistry, she moved to EPFL for her doctoral studies. She is currently working as PhD student on an SNSF granted project in the Laboratory of Nanochemistry for Energy under the supervision of Professor Raffaella Buonsanti. Her PhD project focuses on the colloidal synthesis of Cu-based nanocrystals and study of their formation mechanisms by complementing in-situ X-Rays-based techniques and ex-situ electron microscopy analysis. So far, she has 9 peer reviewed publications, 4 of them as a main author. She has also presented her scientific results to several international audiences and collaborators.

Chethana J Gadiyar, PhD Student at EPFL

Chethana J Gadiyar is originally from Mangalore, in India. She did her Bachelor studies in Chemical Engineering from National Institute of Technology Karnataka. She continued her Master studies in Process Technology in Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands where she modelled chemical reactions in novel reactors. She pursued her doctoral studies at EPFL in the Laboratory of Nanochemistry for Energy under the supervision of Professor Raffaella Buonsanti. Her project was focused on studying solid state reactions at the nanoscale to understand the formation of multinary metal oxides.



The call for submissions for the EuChemS Lecture Award 2020 is currently open. Before submitting a nomination, we kindly ask you to read carefully the guidelines for this award. You have until 31 December 2020, 23:59 CET, to submit your nomination.


Discover more about EuChemS Lecture Award here.

Page last updated: 4 December 2020