

March 4th 2022

## The Russian Aggression against Ukraine

We strongly condemn the unlawful attack of the Russian President and his military leaders on Ukraine causing serious human and material damage. We applaud the heroic resistance of the Ukrainian forces and people. The number of military and civilian casualties is increasing on a daily basis. Thousands of Ukrainians are fleeing to take refuge in neighboring countries. Humanitarian consequences of the conflict are already severe.

The Russian Federation must stop its aggression, desist from further escalation, and be engaged in a diplomatic course to find a negotiated solution to the conflict. A ceasefire must be immediately declared, and Russian military forces must be withdrawn from the Ukrainian territory.

We call upon all European Chemical Societies to stand against the war and urge the political leadership to return to the negotiations and abide by their commitments deriving from the UN Charter and international law. The continuation of the fighting will have grave consequences for the Ukrainian and Russian peoples as well as for the peace and stability in Europe and beyond.

Signed by:

Dr. h.c. mult. Ahmet Üzümcü, Turkey, former Director General OPCW, Honorary member
Prof. Dr. Roald Hoffmann, USA, Nobel laureate for Chemistry, Honorary member
Prof. Dr. Erhard Meyer-Galow, Germany, Honorary member
Prof. em. Dr. Hartmut Frank, Germany, Senior Chair
Prof. Dr. Anca Silvestru, Romania, Chair
Dr. Hans W. Steisslinger, Germany, Vice Chair
Dr. Jan Mehlich, Germany, Secretary
Prof. Dr. Luigi Campanella, Italy

Prof. Dr. Stefan Fränzle, Germany Dr. Hans-Georg Weinig, Germany Prof. Dr. Maria José Calhorda, Portugal Prof. Dr. Bernadette Bensaude-Vincent, France Prof. Dr. Janina Lulek, Poland Prof. Dr. Elżbieta Wojaczyńska, Poland Prof. Dr. Margareta Törnqvist, Sweden Prof. em. Dr. Ulrich Schubert, Austria Prof. em. Dr. Alastair Hay, UK Prof. Dr. Wolfram Koch, Germany Dr. Yunus Emre Turkmen, Turkey Prof. em. Dr. Maria Ochsenkühn-Petropoulos, Greece Dr.Brigitte Van Tiggelen, Belgium Prof. Dr. Francesco De Angelis, Italy Dalina Lelo, Italy Prof. Dr. Marija Bešter-Rogač, Slovenia Prof. Dr. Henning Hopf, Germany Dr. Modest Gertsyuk, Ukraine Dr. Georgina Toth-Nagy, Hungary Prof. Dr. Jan Reedijk, Netherlands Prof. Dr. Ayşem Arda, Turkey Dr. Toby Underwood, UK Prof. Dr. Olimpia Mamula Steiner, Switzerland Prof. Dr. Pavel Drasar, Czech Republic Prof. Dr. Stepan Kalmykov, Russia Dr. Karine Ndjoko, Switzerland