Members Perspectives

The future of science in the 21st century

The aim of the symposium was to discuss the future of science and technology where citizens will increasingly play a key role, envisaging new roads and scientists who may be keen to follow.

The opening by Alexandre Quintanilha, a Member of the Portuguese Parliament, discussed the role of curiosity-led enquiry and the importance of being open to challenge when providing answers. European Research Council (ERC) awarded researchers presented their ground-breaking work with a debate also on the role of ERC in supporting research careers. Maria da Graça Carvalho, Policy Advisor to the European Commission (pictured), introduced the audience to the “social digital innovation with related areas of research and technology application as part of the Strategy for a Social Europe”.  Two EuCheMS members participated at this future-oriented event: the Presidents of the Portuguese Chemistry Society, Artur Silva, and of the Portuguese Electrochemical Society, Luísa Margarida Martins.

Chemical sciences received important recognitions from EURASC this year:

Maria da Graça Carvalho
  •  The Leonardo da Vinci Award was awarded to Vincenzo Balzani in recognition for his outstanding contributions to the development of major branches of chemistry including photochemistry, supramolecular chemistry, and molecular nanotechnology;
  • The Blaise Pascal Medal 2017 in Chemistry was awarded to Mike Mingos in recognition for his ground-breaking contributions and pioneering role in the areas of inorganic and structural chemistry where he profoundly influenced the development of the field;
  • The Blaise Pascal Medal 2017 in Materials Science was given to Luis Liz-Marzan in recognition for his contributions to the understanding of nanocrystal growth and self-assembly, plasmonic properties and sensing applications.
  • Filippo De Angelis of the Department of Chemistry Sciences and Technology of Materials of the National Research Council of Italy was appointed member of EURASC and received the EURASC Diploma for his exceptional contribution to science and technology.

Luísa Margarida Martins
Portuguese Electrochemical Society

Augusta Maria Paci
National Research Council of Italy

Is it my duty to know how chemistry is taught in Lisbon, in Riga or in Shymkent?

New member of the ECTN Panel of Experts: Dr.-Ing. Cristina Todasca (University Politehnica of Bucharest) receives the certificate from Prof. Reiner Salzer (Chair of ECTN Label Committee) after the coaching held at Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest in October 2017. The other members of the Label Committee are (from left): Prof. Jiří Barek (Charles University Prague), Dr. Gergely Tóth (Eötvös Loránd University Budapest) and Prof. Martino Di Serio (University of Naples Federico II).

Members of staff in higher education are usually involved in the development of the local teaching program. They get information about how chemistry is taught in other places through meetings, staff exchanges and activities in national accreditations bodies. Becoming a member of the Panel of Experts, is another way to gather information on chemistry programs internationally.

The holder of the Chemistry Quality Eurolabels – Chemistry Eurobachelor®, Chemistry Euromaster® and Chemistry Doctorate Eurolabel® – is the European Chemistry Thematic Network Association (ECTN). The two-decade-old organisation has around 150 members, mostly European universities. The labels, endorsed by EuCheMS, can be received through an accreditation process organised by the Label Committee of ECTN. An application is assessed by a three-member team, where the members are chosen from the around 35 names of Panel of Experts. The decision is complex according to differences between national rules and international guidelines. It is often amended with an advisory role, especially if site visit takes place for new applicants. Mostly persons active in former applications became the members of Panel of Expert after taking part on a coaching event.

Gergely Tóth
Eötvös Loránd University Budapest, Secretary for External Matters – Label Committee of ECTN