EuCheMs  European Association for Chemical and Molecular Sciences

The EuCheMS Award for Service

Criteria and guidance notes

The EuCheMS Award for Service acknowledges outstanding commitment with regard to fostering chemistry and molecular sciences in Europe and the goals of EuCheMS. In addition to recognized service to EuCheMS, this may include activities in governmental, non-governmental or funding organizations, publicity-related activities, etc. Nominations must demonstrate achievements for improved competitiveness, visibility, coherence or structure of chemistry in Europe.

All EuCheMS member societies and divisions or working Parties are invited to submit nominations for the award (see nomination form). Decisions on making the award are taken by the EuCheMS Executive Board, normally annually. It is normal practice that members of the Executive Board and Division Chairs are not considered for the Award until after their term of office has ceased. Service as EuCheMS President or Treasurer or as Chair or other office holder of a EuCheMS Division is not itself sufficient to merit the Award. The nomination must demonstrate service to EuCheMS or to European chemistry over and above the basic voluntary contribution that would normally be expected. Unsuccessful nominations for the Award may be re-submitted once in the next three years from the first submission.

For the nomination, an official form is available for download. Please complete this form and submit it to EuCheMS.

Recent winner of the Award for Service

The winner of the 2014 EuCheMS Award for Service is Prof. Luis Oro. Prof. Oro served EuCheMS for six years as President Elect, President and Past President. His presidency was based on the idea of creating a European identity among chemical societies and thus he pursued and fulfilled two major goals: the development and execution of the EuCheMS strategy 2009-2013 and establishment of EuCheMS as an independent organization in Brussels.

The award will be given at the 5th EuCheMS Chemistry Congress in Istanbul.

Past winners of the Award for Service

(klick on red triangle)